Dr. Kaelin is currently a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, the Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, a professor at Harvard Medical School, and a professor and senior physician-scientist at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Dr. Kaelin was elected to the ASCI in 1997 (see profile).

Dr. Kaelin is recipient of numerous awards including the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, shared with Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Dr. Gregg L. Semenza for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability; the 2016 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award (with Sir Ratcliffe and Dr. Semenza); and the 2012 ASCI Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award (with Dr. Semenza).

This event was moderated by Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD. Dr. Ardehali, the 2021-2022 ASCI President, is Professor of Medicine-Cardiology and Professor of Pharmacology; Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; and Director, Center for Molecular Cardiology, at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.