Recognizing the need to bolster retention on the physician-scientist career path, in 2020, the ASCI formed the Physician-Scientist Development Committee (PSDC) which monitors, creates, and supports programming for early-career physician-scientists. PSDC projects include:

  • Increasing longitudinal programming for our Young Physician-Scientist Awardees, which includes:
    • Leadership development workshops
    • Virtual poster sessions
    • Panel discussions on topics including Funding, Publishing, and Running a Research Program
    • The Physician Scientist Pathway Series, which brings our early-career awardees and members together with an esteemed and established colleague to converse about the physician-scientist career path
    • Presidential Panels connect early-career awardees with past, present, and future ASCI Presidents to informally discuss the physician-scientist career path
    • Multidisciplinary peer review groups
  • Instituting a similar award and programming for pre-faculty Physician-Scientists, the Emerging-Generation Award

2023-2024 Committee Leadership:

Anna Greka, MD, PhD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Anna Ryan Hemnes, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Oliver Eickelberg, MD
Vice Chair
University of Pittsburgh
Kyu Rhee, MD, PhD
Vice Chair
Weill Cornell Medicine
Goutham Narla, MD, PhD
Councilor Volunteer
University of Michigan, Michigan Medicine
Sohail Tavazoie, MD, PhD
ASCI Immediate Past President
Rockefeller University

2023-2024 General Assembly:

Kjersti Aagaard, MD, PhD (Baylor College of Medicine)
Rajendra Apte, MD, PhD (Washington University)
Valerie Arboleda, MD, PhD (University of California, Los Angeles)
Brian DeBosch, MD, PhD (Washington University)
Hitesh Deshmukh, MD, PhD (Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center)
Stephanie Eisenbarth, MD, PhD (Northwestern University)
Holger Eltzschig, MD, PhD (University of Texas Medical School)
Shuta Ishibe, MD (Yale University)
Rajan Jain, MD (University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine)
Alex Kentsis, MD, PhD (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)
Harmeet Malhi, MBBS (Mayo Clinic)
Nima Mosammaparast, MD, PhD (Washington University)
Tamer Sallam, MD, PhD (University of California, Los Angeles)
Eric Schmidt, MD (Massachusetts General Hospital)
David Stoltz, MD, PhD (University of Iowa)

Consulting Members:

Steven Mansoor, MD, PhD (2023 Seldin~Smith Awardee)
Marie Guerraty, MD, PhD (2022 YPSA)
Jennifer Rymer, MD, MBA (2023 YPSA)
David Zemmour, MD, PhD (2022 E-Gen)
Mona Mashayekhi, MD, PhD (2023 E-Gen)
Alex Waldman (APSA President)
Cynthia Tang (APSA President-Elect)

Please direct any questions about the Physician-Scientist Development Committee to

Physician-Scientist Development

View All Physician-Scientist Development