The Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research, initiated by the ASCI Council in 2014, connects the next generation of physician-scientist leaders with the legacies of two esteemed ASCI members, Drs. Donald W. Seldin and Lloyd H. “Holly” Smith Jr., whom we remember for both their scientific contributions and their dedicated mentorship of countless physician-scientists. The annual award, accompanied by an unrestricted $30,000 grant to advance academic efforts, honors an early-career physician-scientist who has demonstrated exceptional creativity and accomplishments in biomedical research. In addition, the recipient delivers a research talk at the Joint Meeting and receives mentoring from the members of the Award Selection and Advisory Committees.

In memoriam

A tribute to Donald W. Seldin, MD

We are saddened by the passing of Donald W. Seldin, MD, on April 25 at age 97. Dr. Seldin was an iconic figure in medicine and the very embodiment of what the ASCI ...

A tribute to Lloyd H. (“Holly”) Smith Jr., MD

Lloyd Hollingsworth (“Holly”) Smith Jr., MD, passed away on June 18. He was 94. Elected to the ASCI in 1961, Dr. Smith served as a Councilor from 1966 to 1969...

Award Recipients


Steven E. Mansoor, MD, PhD


Piro Lito, MD, PhD


Rajan Jain, MD


Andrew A. Lane, MD, PhD


Vijay G. Sankaran, MD, PhD


Anna Greka, MD, PhD, and Deepak Nijhawan, MD, PhD


Omar Abdel-Wahab, MD


Christian P. Schaaf, MD, PhD