Celebrating 20 years of the Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award

This year, the ASCI is celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award, which has become a beacon of excellence by celebrating key discoveries made by physician-scientists who are also passionate about mentoring.

At the upcoming Joint Meeting, on Friday, April 20, 5 to 5:30 p.m., the ASCI will recognize Dr. Joseph Heitman as the 2018 Korsmeyer Award recipient. His presentation for the Korsmeyer Lecture is “Natural product drug targets are conserved from model and pathogenic yeasts to humans.”

Also on Friday, April 20, Benjamin L. Ebert, MD, PhD, the 2017-2018 ASCI President, will host his President’s Reception from 6 to 7:15 p.m. in honor of this milestone for the Korsmeyer Award. The reception will feature introductory remarks from Dr. Ebert followed by reminiscences from:

  • Susan Korsmeyer, Dr. Korsmeyer’s widow and a staunch advocate for the Award and its legacy
  • Scott A. Armstrong, MD, PhD, a former trainee of Dr. Korsmeyer and currently Chair of the Department of Pediatric Oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Timothy J. Ley, MD, a former colleague of Dr. Korsmeyer and currently Associate Director for Cancer Genomics, The Genome Institute, Washington University, St. Louis

In connection with celebrating the significant history of the Award and recognizing Dr. Korsmeyer, the ASCI is seeking the support of the physician-scientist community to sustain the Award’s legacy. Your gift to the Korsmeyer Award Fund, which will be restricted to the Award, will highlight your commitment to this critical recognition and the impact it has had, and will continue to have, on the physician-scientist community.

It is an honor for me to join Susan Korsmeyer and Carnell Korsmeyer (Dr. Korsmeyer’s mother) in a combined Visionary donation toward the fund. I am pleased to recognize other initial donors: Louis J. Ptáček, MD (2015 Award recipient), James E. Crowe Jr., MD (2017 Award recipient), and Kieren Marr, MD (Chair, ASCI Development Committee).

I hope that you will be able to join us in celebrating the Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award and its legacy:


As ever, thank you for your time.

John B. Hawley
Executive Director
The American Society for Clinical Investigation