Recipient of the 2023 Seldin~Smith Award for Pioneering Research:
Steven E. Mansoor, MD, PhD

Steven Mansoor
Dr. Mansoor

The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) is pleased to recognize Steven E. Mansoor, MD, PhD, as the recipient of the 2023 Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research. For this Award, the ASCI provides Dr. Mansoor an honorarium of $30,000 to advance his academic efforts, and the opportunity to deliver a scientific talk at the 2024 AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting.

A clinical cardiologist, Dr. Mansoor employs structural biology techniques to study the structure, function, and signaling of ion channels and G-protein coupled receptors of the cardiovascular and central nervous systems. He was responsible for resolving the structures of several receptors within the P2X class of purinergic receptors: P2X3R and PRX7R. Dr. Mansoor’s work provided clarity into the activity of each, enabling efforts in his lab and elsewhere to identify potential small molecules that target P2X receptors for novel therapeutics.

Dr. David B. Jacoby nominated Dr. Mansoor for the Award, and Dr. Richard H. Goodman provided a letter of support. In his letter, Dr. Goodman wrote, “Beyond the important contributions to understanding the basic science of ion channel structure, function, and gating, Dr. Mansoor’s work has truly significant translational implications.”

Dr. Mansoor earned his BA from Reed College (Oregon) and his MD and PhD from the Oregon Health & Sciences University (OHSU), where he completed his medical residency and cardiology fellowship. He is Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, and Assistant Professor of Chemical Physiology and Biochemistry at the OHSU School of Medicine. His work has been recognized and funded by the Gilead Research Scholars Award, the Silver Family Foundation Faculty Excellence and Innovation Award, and the National Institutes of Health, including most recently the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Among other honors, he was a recipient of the ASCI’s 2018 Young Physician-Scientist Award.

Nominations were evaluated by the Seldin~Smith Award Selection Committee: Mukesh K. Jain (Chair), Vivian G. Cheung, Sohail F. Tavazoie, Benjamin D. Humphreys, and Anna Greka. Finalists were evaluated by an Advisory Committee comprising five physician-scientist luminaries: Joseph L. Goldstein (Chair), Michael S. Brown, Robert J. Lefkowitz, Christine Seidman, and Arthur Weiss.