New Council members elected, 2019

The ASCI is pleased to announce the results of a recent ballot to fill pending Council vacancies. Dr. Benjamin Humphreys, Secretary-Treasurer Elect, oversaw the ballot; Drs. Chirag R. Parikh and Wanda Phipatanakul volunteered as auditors.

The following members will join the Council at the conclusion of the upcoming AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting, April 5-7.

Vice President: Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD

Dr. Ardehali

Dr. Ardehali is Professor of Medicine–Cardiology and of Pharmacology at Northwestern University, and is Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program and the Center for Molecular Cardiology. He received his MD and PhD from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, and he completed his medicine residency and cardiology fellowship training at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. Elected to the ASCI in 2012, he currently serves on the Council as Secretary-Treasurer.

Read more about Dr. Ardehali

Councilor: Anna Greka, MD, PhD

Dr. Greka

Dr. Greka is an Associate Professor at Harvard Medical School (HMS); an Associate Physician in the Renal Division in the Department of Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH); and Founding Director of the Center for Kidney Disease and Novel Experimental Therapeutics (Kidney-NExT) at BWH. Dr. Greka is also a Member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. She received an MD and PhD in neurobiology from HMS and received her medical and scientific training in the Harvard-MIT program in Health Sciences and Technology (HST). Dr. Greka was elected to the ASCI in 2017.

Read more about Dr. Greka

Councilor: Sophie Paczesny, MD, PhD

Dr. Paczesny

Dr. Paczesny is Professor of Pediatrics and Immunology at the Indiana University School of Medicine. She received her MD and PhD from the University of Paris, where she completed her residency and fellowship in pediatric hematology/oncology and bone marrow transplantation. Prior to her appointment at Indiana University, she was a faculty member in the Blood and Marrow Transplantation Program at the University of Michigan. Dr. Paczesny was elected to the ASCI in 2014.

Read more about Dr. Paczesny