Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, elected 2022-2027 JCI Editor-in-Chief


Dr. McNally

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, has been elected as the 2022-2027 Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Clinical Investigation (JCI). She will succeed Rexford Ahima, MD, PhD, who has served as the journal’s Editor-in-Chief since July 2018. Dr. McNally’s term begins March 1, 2022.

Dr. McNally is the Director for the Center for Genetic Medicine at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Dr. McNally studies inherited disorders that affect cardiac and skeletal muscle function. Her efforts have elucidated membrane-associated defects that disturb cellular integrity and repair mechanisms leading to the identification of therapeutic targets. Dr. McNally was elected to the ASCI in 2003 and served as President, 2011-2012. She was elected to the Association of American Physicians in 2006 and is serving as the 2021-2022 President. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine in 2021.

“The JCI publishes a broad range of molecular medicine, including new therapeutic mechanisms,” Dr. McNally said. “We have a tremendous depth of expertise here at Feinberg, and we will be drawing on our outstanding scientists to guide the Journal over these next 5 years. It’s really an honor for us at Northwestern and speaks to the growth we’ve had as a medical school.”

“I was honored to serve as Chair of the Editor Selection Committee, which devoted itself to selecting the best candidate to succeed Dr. Ahima and a long list of esteemed Editors-in-Chief,” said Sohail Tavazoie, MD, PhD, the ASCI’s 2021-2022 President-Elect. “I was particularly proud to be a part of the outstanding group who selected Dr. McNally, who will become the first woman to serve as the Editor-in-Chief of JCI.”

Dr. McNally’s Editorial Board will include Deputy Editors Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2012); Daniel Brat, MD, PhD (2014); Alfred George, Jr., MD (1998); Maha Hussain, MD; and Susan Quaggin, MD (2006). The following will serve as Associate Editors: Sarki Abdulkadir, MD, PhD (2017); Marisa-Luisa Alegre, MD, PhD (2006); Rishi Arora, MD (2020); Joe Bass, MD, PhD; Ankit Bharat, MBBS (2019); GR Scott Budinger, MD (2014); Serdar Bulun, MD (2003); Navdeep Chandel, PhD; Eugene Chang, MD (1992); Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD (2021); Richard D’Aquila, MD; Stephanie Eisenbarth, MD, PhD (2020); Amy Heimberger, MD, PhD (2011); Luisa Iruela-Arispe, PhD; Peng Ji, PhD; Igor Koralnik, MD (2008); Maciej Lesniak, MD (2018); Hidayatullah Munshi, MD (2012); Marcelo Nobrega, MD, PhD (2015); Guillermo Oliver, PhD; Puneet Opal, MD, PhD (2013); John Pandolfino, MD (2018); Sachin Patel, MD, PhD (2018); Laura Rasmussen-Torvik, PhD; Patrick Seed, MD, PhD; and Ali Shilatifard, PhD.

The ASCI thanks the members of the Editor Selection Committee for their service: Dr. Tavazoie, Chair (The Rockefeller University), Rexford S. Ahima, MD, PhD (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine), Kathleen L. Collins, MD, PhD (University of Michigan Medical School), Benjamin D. Humphreys, MD, PhD (Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis), Priscilla Hsue, MD (University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine), Martin G. Myers, Jr., MD, PhD (University of Michigan Medical School), M. Bishr Omary, MD, PhD (Rutgers, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School), and Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, DPhil (University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine).

In November, the ASCI’s Active members were asked to vote on the recommendation of Dr. McNally as the 2022-2027 Editor in Chief. Following the bylaw’s Ballot Review Committee section, the results of the vote were received, reviewed, and verified by Priscilla Hsue (2021-2023 ASCI Secretary-Treasurer) and two Active members identified by random selection from ballots submitted and who agreed to audit the results. The ASCI thanks Ekihiro Seki, MD, PhD, and Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele, MD, for their service as auditors.