ASCI members elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 2018

The ASCI congratulates its members who have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine for 2018. Fourteen members are represented among the 75 regular members elected for 2018 (full list). (Citation information following each member as given by the National Academy of Medicine.)

Richard S. Blumberg, MD (elected to ASCI in 1995)

For multiple seminal, paradigm-changing contributions to our understanding of mucosal immunology and immune development having identified mechanistic alterations central to several diseases, including inflammatory bowel disease, autoimmune disorders, and cancer.

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD (elected to ASCI in 1998)

For the discovery of the stages of human natural killer (NK) cell development, the role of IL-15 in NK survival, and in the pathogenesis of NK leukemia and cutaneous T cell lymphoma.

Michael S. Diamond, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2007)

For research on the molecular basis and immune-mediated control of global infectious disease threats, including Zika, dengue, and chikungunya viruses, and defining critical viral determinants of the immune response that have facilitated the development of countermeasures to prevent their spread.

Susan M. Domchek, MD (elected to ASCI in 2013)

For contributions in the evaluation and management of hereditary breast and ovarian cancer including the introduction of two BRCA1/2 specific drug therapies.

Benjamin Levine Ebert, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2011)

For contributions to understanding the genetics and biology of myeloid malignancies, to the characterization of clonal hematopoiesis, and to elucidating the mechanism of action of thalidomide and its analogs.

Robert M. Friedlander, MD, MA (elected to ASCI in 2006)

For demonstrating the role of caspases in cell-death pathways in neurologic diseases, and for groundbreaking discoveries that have led to the development of novel therapies to improve outcomes for patients suffering from stroke, brain and spinal cord injury, Huntington’s disease, and ALS.

William A. Gahl, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 1988)

For contributions that include creating the Undiagnosed Diseases Program within intramural NIH to meld individualized patient care with next-generation sequencing and to provide insights into new mechanisms of disease; spearheading expansion to the national Undiagnosed Diseases Network and the Undiagnosed Disease Network International; and championing the sharing of genetic databases and best practices.

David Allen Hafler, MD, MSc (elected to ASCI in 1993)

For seminal discoveries defining the pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis (MS), including identification of autoreactive T cells and mechanisms that underlie their dysregulation, and the discovery of susceptibility genes that lead to MS.

Steven M. Holland, MD (elected to ASCI in 2003)

For distinguished achievements in primary immunodeficiencies and infectious diseases, including the recognition, treatment, genomic identification, and cure of previously unexplained diseases as well as the identification and characterization of novel pathogens in those diseases.

Ophir David Klein, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2013)

For his international reputation in developmental and stem cell biology, focusing on craniofacial, tooth, and bone development and regeneration, destined to lead to the biologically inspired restoration of teeth and other organs.

Matthew Langer Meyerson, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2007)

For discovery of EGFR mutations in lung cancer and their ability to predict responsiveness to EGFR inhibitors, thereby helping to establish the current paradigm of precision cancer therapy.

Lucila Ohno-Machado, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2010)

For creating an algorithm that allows sharing access to clinical data while respecting the privacy of individuals and institutions.

Jordan Scott Orange, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2010)

For his research achievements in defining a new class of immune diseases, natural killer cell deficiencies, as well as other genetic immunodeficiencies.

Rachel M. Werner, MD, PhD (elected to ASCI in 2012)

For advancing our understanding of how health care provider performance measurement and incentives often bring unintended and undesired equity consequences that compete with efficiency goals.